On Wednesday, “Scream” writer Kevin Williamson revealed the title of the horror franchise’s fifth film and announced that production has officially wrapped in North Carolina.

Instagram Post


“Nearly 25 years ago, when I wrote ‘Scream’ and Wes Craven brought it to life, I could not have imagined the lasting impact it would have on you, the fans. I’m excited for you to return to Woodsboro and get really scared again,” Williamson wrote on Instagram. “I believe Wes would’ve been so proud of the film that Matt and Tyler are making. I’m thrilled to be reunited with Neve, Courteney, David and Marley, and to be working alongside a new filmmaking team and incredible cast of newcomers that have close to continue Wes’s legacy with the upcoming relaunch of the franchise that I hold so dear to my heart. See you in theatres January 2022.”

1996 film poster

The original “Scream” debuted in 1996 with Campbell starring as Sidney Prescott, the target of the Ghostface killer, with a look inspired by the Edvard Munch painting “The Scream.” The first film was directed by Wes Craven and written by Williamson. Bob Weinstein’s Dimension Films released all four films, which combined for $608 million in worldwide box office with sequels released in 1997, 2000 and 2011.

Scream is said to be more of a continuation of the series rather than a reboot, bringing old members back. Along with Neve Campbell and Courtney Cox, David Arquette and Marley Shelton will also reprise their characters as Dewey Riley and Judy Hicks, from the previous four Scream films. They were directed and created by late Wes Craven.

The new Scream 5 cast members include Dylan Minnette (13 Reasons Why), Jack Quid (The Boys), Melissa Barrera (Vida, In Heights), Mason Gooding (Love, Victor), Jenna Ortega (You, Jane the Virgin), Mikey Madison (Better Things, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood) and Sonia Ammar. They are cast in undisclosed roles and anyone among them could be the next killer or killers in the Scream movie. Plot details are kept under wraps.

“Ready or Not” directors Matthew Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett are helming the reboot from a script by James Vanderbilt and Guy Busick. Spyglass Media Group, Project X Entertainment’s Vanderbilt, Paul Neinstein and William Sherak are producing. Williamson is serving as executive producer, along side Radio Silence’s Chad Villella. Paramount has set a Jan. 14, 2022, release date.